Solution to “url contains illegal characters” while commenting on blogspot/blogger blogs

I recently tried commenting on a blogspot blog ( Blogger as it generally referred as ). I wanted to identify myself as a wordpress blogger. It popped up a box prompting me to enter my blog address.  I entered my full blog address which is rendezvouswithpavan.wordpress.com but it failed to post my comment and threw up the “URL contains Illegal Characters” error. Then, I entered just my blog name without any prefixes and suffixes. Just the bare blog name like – rendezvouswithpavan. And now it worked like a charm! I’ve summarized the steps in the following image

Step by Step guide
Step by Step guide

 

8 thoughts on “Solution to “url contains illegal characters” while commenting on blogspot/blogger blogs

  1. thanks, i had similar error message, but reason was different.

    i was logging as livejournal user using opera mini browser. the problem was that opera dont redirected me on livejournal openid confirmation page. also, it may had cashed some of captcha images on opera mini servers, so it appears over and over again.

    don’t use opera mini for commenting on blogger, thats my solution ~:{©<

Leave a Reply

