Solution to Ubuntu MAAS Internal Server Error: 500

After installing Ubuntu Server and the MAAS packages, I set up the web interface of MAAS @ http://XX.XXX.XXX.XXX/MAAS. My N/W was configured with DHCP. I restarted my machine and started hitting the error.

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@localhost and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

The problem was that, after the restart, the DHCP server had assigned a new IP address to my machine and hence I was unable to reach the web interface which was configured at the old address. Solution is simple. Reconfigure cluster-controller and region-controller to point to the new IP address by running the following commands-

sudo dpkg-reconfigure maas-cluster-controller
sudo dpkg-reconfigure maas-region-controller

Note: The internal server error might appear for numerous reasons. I found a solution for particular problem. If this doesn’t help resolve your problem, then sorry folks, I cant help you as I myself am a newbie into this.

4 thoughts on “Solution to Ubuntu MAAS Internal Server Error: 500

Leave a Reply

